11 Books Like I’m Thinking Of Ending Things To Check Out If You Like Psychological Horror

Looking for books similar to I’m Thinking of Ending Things? Scroll down below to find similar thriller books you might enjoy.

Books Like I'm Thinking Of Ending Things

As one reviewer on Goodreads put it, ”If you like existential road trips, creepy farmhouses, after dark schools, being anxious, tense vibes, and books that can read forward and backwards— this one is for you.”

The book I’m Thinking Of Ending Things has become very popular after the Netflix film by the same name by famous director Charlie Kaufman was released. The film was well-loved by critics and fans of slow-burn horror. I’m Thinking Of Ending Things is a strange book that a very niche category of fans will enjoy. If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, then you’re at the right place. You can scroll down to the list of similar books down below.

I’m Thinking Of Ending Things follows the story of Jake and his girlfriend, who is never given a name as they make their way to a secluded farm to meet Jake’s family. When the two of them take a detour, the girlfriend is left stranded at a deserted high school, looking for an escape she cannot find. The story slowly devolves into a chaos of psychological horror as she starts to question the very nature of her reality. I’ll leave you with one quote from the book –

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Also Check Out : 11 Movies like Sunshine to Watch if you like Mind Bending Films

11 Books Like I’m Thinking Of Ending Things

  1. No One Gets Out Alive
  2. Foe
  3. The Devil All The Time
  4. Midnight Picnic
  5. Fever Dream
  6. You Should Have Left
  7. Penpal – Dathan
  8. The Silent Patient
  9. Gone Girl
  10. Before I Go To Sleep
  11. The Cabin At The End Of The World

Also Check Out: 10 Shows like Person Of Interest To Watch If You Like Fast-Paced Thrillers

No One Gets Out Alive

No One Gets Out Alive is a horror novel by the British author Adam Nevill. The story of the book focuses on a young woman called Stephanie who is always strapped for cash. Stephanie finds a really nice apartment at a decent price which seems like a too good to be true kind of offer. Still, not willing to let this opportunity pass by, she quickly moves into the apartment.

As she settles into her apartment, strange and inexplicable things start happening around her which are sometimes sinister in nature. She starts feeling a presence in her apartment and hearing odd things. Revealing any more of the story would be akin to spoiling it but if you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you should definitely check out No One Gets Out Alive.

Foe

Foe is Ian Reed’s second novel after writing ‘I’m Thinking of Ending Things. This book is a psychological thriller/ horror with a sci-fi setting. Reid has called the book a ‘philosophical suspense story’. The story of the book is based on a married couple(Junior and his wife Henrietta) who live on a remote farm. Their lives are disrupted when a stranger called Terrance appears and announces that Junior has been selected to go on a space mission. When Junior is gone, Terrance replaces him with a biochemical clone to take care of Henrietta. Things get increasingly creepy from there. As this is written by the same author as ‘I’m Thinking Of Ending Things’, fans of the book will definitely enjoy reading Foe.

The Devil All The Time

You may have heard of the Netflix film The Devil All the Time. The film has been adapted from an original novel by the American writer Donald Ray Pollock and was published in 2011. The book follows a set of bizarre characters from the end of World War II to the 1960s. The characters include Willard Russel, a tortured war veteran who lost his wife Charlotte, Carl and Sandy Henderson, a husband-and-wife team of serial killers who are always on the hunt for their next kill. The book is a study of the evil within mankind, and how it manifests in different ways in different people. While not everyone may enjoy this book, people who enjoy psychological horror may just end up loving The Devil All the Time. You could also check out the Netflix film if you feel like it.

Midnight Picnic

Midnight Picnic is a popular novel by author Nick Antosca and follows the story of a man called Bram. The story of the book begins as Bram finds the bones of a murdered child. The murdered child’s spirit begins talking to Bram and convinces him to get revenge for the child’s death. What follows is a fever dream of a story that goes into detail about the nature of death and what it means to be a killer. Bram and the child enter the realm of the dead and learn more about their own identities. The book can be creepy and dark at times, and if the story sounds like something you may like you can check out Midnight Picnic.

Fever Dream

Fever Dream is a 2014 Spanish horror novel by author Samantha Schweblin. The book has been translated into English by Megan McDowell and the English version was published in 2017 by Riverhead Books. The book has gained a lot of critical appreciation as a horror story. NPR has called the book, ‘an exceptional example of the short-and-creepy form’. The New Yorker also has good things to say about the book, ‘so enigmatic and so disciplined…[that] it belongs to a new literary genre altogether’.

The book follows the life of a young woman named Amanda, who is dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. They’re not related to each other. But together, they tell a haunting story of their past that is sure to really touch your heart. If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you can’t go wrong with reading the psychological horror Fever Dream.

You Should Have Left

You Should Have Left is a popular German novella by writer Daniel Kehlmann. The novella was translated into English by Ross Benjamin. The book follows the story of a screenwriter, trying to write a sequel to his successful first-script – Beasties. The screenwriter is on a studio deadline, so he rents a house in the mountains to work on his sequel in peace and his wife and daughter accompany him. As he continues to write the sequel, the boundaries between his real life and the story he is developing start to dissolve and readers will have a hard time distinguishing reality from fiction. The book has received a lot of good reviews from critics for the author’s ability to confuse the readers about what’s real in the story and what’s not. Fans of I’m Thinking of Ending Things should definitely check out You Should Have Left.

Penpal

If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, the book Penpal by American author Dathan Auerbach is an excellent book. The storyline for Penpal is based on a series of connected series the author posted on the r/nosleep subreddit. Having received a lot of positive attention for his work, he decided to publish it in the form of a novel. The story of Penpal is told via a series of non-linear recollections by an anonymous narrator trying to make sense of his childhood. The narrator is unsure of what happened in their early life, as the narrator’s mother hid the truth about his childhood all his life. As the story goes on, the narrator finds himself at the attention of an obsessed stalker. The book has a really unique writing style and fans of mysteries should definitely check this out.

The Silent Patient

The Silent Patient is a psychological thriller written by British author Alex Michaelides. The story of the book is a narration by a psychotherapist who recounts his dealings with a disturbed patient. His patient is a woman, who commits a grisly murder of her husband and then becomes mute. The story follows the patient’s obsession with finding out the truth about why she committed the murder. At the time of the book’s release, the book debuted on The York Times Best Seller List at No 1. The book has also won a Goodreads Choice Award 2019 for the Mystery and Thriller category.

Gone Girl

I’m pretty sure most of you have seen the film Gone Girl or heard of it at the very least. The film is based on the popular 2012 novel of the same name by famous thriller author Gillian Flynn who has also written Sharp Objects. The film follows the story of a couple who fall in love and get married in a small town. The wife Amy disappears it looks like she has kidnapped or captured. This sends the husband on a wild goose chase as he chases down leads to find his wife. However, the truth is not as simple as it appears and Amy has a few tricks up her sleeve. It wouldn’t make sense to spoil the surprise here, so if you haven’t yet read the book you should give it a read.

Before I Go To Sleep

Before I Go To Sleep is author S.J. Watson’s debut novel that was published in 2011. The book became a bestseller on Sunday Times and The New York Times and has been translated into over 40 languages. Before I Go To Sleep has also become a bestseller in many countries around the world as well. The book follows the story of a woman suffering from anterograde amnesia. She wakes up each day not remembering who she is and the story of the novel follows her life as she tries to reconstruct her memories of the past every time that she wakes. Every new day she wakes up, the readers learn new parts of her backstory. She has a loving husband who supports her through her journey, however, all things are not as they seem. As the story unfolds, she realizes that entire parts of her life have been hidden from her. Saying any more would be spoiling it, so if this sounds interesting you should check out Before I Go To Sleep.

The Cabin At The End Of The World

The Cabin At The End of The World is a horror novel by American writer Paul Tremblay. The novel has received a ton of good reviews from critics and has won the Horror Writers Association’s Bram Stoker Award for Novel in 2019. The book follows a gay couple, Eric and Andrew, and their adopted daughter Wen who are taking a vacation in a secluded cabin in New Hampshire. While on their vacation, they are invaded by a group of strangers who take them hostage. Things get progressively chaotic as the story continues and you should definitely check out this amazing novel. Popular horror author Stephen King also commented on this novel, saying it was ‘thought-provoking and terrifying.’ If you’re looking for books similar to I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you should definitely check this one out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.