TL;DR
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
A Kiplinger report compares the $3,199 price of Apple’s top-tier iPhone Duo with sample travel costs in Colombia, Mexico, Albania, Kenya and Vietnam. Its airfare, hotel and meal figures suggest the budget could cover a trip to each, but trip length and several major expenses are not specified.
A Kiplinger report says the $3,199 price of Apple’s top-tier iPhone Duo with 2TB of storage could instead fund international trips to Colombia, Mexico, Albania, Kenya or Vietnam. The comparison uses example round-trip airfares and average hotel and meal costs, but does not specify a trip length or account for every travel expense.
The report lists average hotel costs of $45 per night in Colombia, $90 in Mexico, $50 in Albania, $70 in Kenya and $55 in Vietnam. Its estimates for daily meals are $35, $48, $30, $30 and $20, respectively. Those figures are presented as averages, not guaranteed prices for particular dates or accommodations.
Example round-trip fares vary by departure airport. From Los Angeles, the report gives fares of $650 to Colombia, $400 to Mexico, $700 to Albania, $1,000 to Kenya and $700 to Vietnam. From New York’s JFK airport, it lists $450, $551, $550, $860 and $850, respectively. The source does not identify travel dates, airlines, baggage rules or fare availability.
Kiplinger points to different experiences in each destination: Colombia’s Cartagena, Coffee Triangle and Tayrona National Park; Mexico’s beaches and Teotihuacán; Albania’s Ionian coast and historic towns; Kenya’s wildlife reserves and coastal areas; and Vietnam’s hotels, dining and local transport. These examples are the report’s suggested possibilities, not a priced itinerary for any one traveler.
What the Price Comparison Shows
The comparison puts a familiar high-cost purchase beside an alternative use for the same $3,199 budget. For readers weighing a new phone against a major trip, the listed costs show that international airfare and lower daily expenses can make travel plausible at that spending level, depending on where and when they go.
It is not a like-for-like calculation of a complete vacation. The report gives examples for flights, lodging and meals but does not provide a duration, full itinerary or total budget. Local transport, activities, insurance, visas where applicable, taxes and incidental costs may affect what a traveler can afford. Kenya’s safari activities, in particular, are described without itemized prices for drives or park fees.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Kiplinger Built the Estimates
Kiplinger says its data sources include TheGlobalEconomy.com, Numbeo’s cost-of-living database and Budget Your Trip. It uses average hotel and daily meal estimates alongside sample fares from Los Angeles and JFK to frame the destinations against the phone’s listed price.
The article’s headline frames the destinations as costing less than a new iPhone, while the figures describe separate components rather than a fixed total. The report also notes that regional flights can help travelers move around Colombia and Mexico, and that extended safaris in Kenya can be expensive. Neither point is accompanied by a complete cost schedule.
““By factoring in round-trip international airfare, comfortable lodging and regional purchasing power, you can travel to five different countries on five different continents for less than the cost of the new iPhone.””
— Kiplinger report
Costs the Estimates Leave Out
The source does not state a travel duration, the dates used to collect airfare prices, or whether the fares include checked bags and other charges. It also does not give a full trip total or a detailed method for the hotel and meal averages. Travelers should not treat the listed prices as current quotes or as a guarantee that a complete trip will fit under $3,199.
Other costs may include local transportation, tours, attraction and park admission, travel insurance, visa fees where required, tips and currency exchange. The report mentions private tours, drivers and safari experiences as possibilities but does not price them. The extent to which those activities fit the stated budget remains unclear.
Check Dates Before Booking
Anyone using the comparison to plan a trip would need to check live fares and lodging prices for their dates, then add transport, activities and other trip expenses. Because Kiplinger provides sample route prices rather than dated offers, the next step is to compare current booking options from the traveler’s own departure city and build a trip-specific total.
The report does not announce a booking offer or future update. Its figures are best read as a broad comparison of destination costs against a phone’s listed price, not as a ready-made itinerary or a promise of what a vacation will cost.
Key Questions
Which five destinations are included?
The report names Colombia, Mexico, Albania, Kenya and Vietnam, one destination in each of five continents.
What iPhone price does the comparison use?
Kiplinger compares travel with $3,199, the listed price in its source material for Apple’s top-tier iPhone Duo with 2TB of storage.
Are the listed travel costs complete trip budgets?
No. The report gives example round-trip airfares and average nightly hotel and daily meal costs, but it does not specify trip length or include a full accounting of transport, activities and other expenses.
Are the airfare figures guaranteed?
No. They are sample fares from Los Angeles and JFK in the report, which gives no travel dates, airline details or guarantee of availability. Travelers should check prices for their own dates.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
