How To Understand The Latest ChatGPT Pro Changes
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: How To Understand The Latest ChatGPT Pro Changes on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI cancelled a planned October 30 reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The changes took effect October 29, but they do not double every ChatGPT limit: some chat limits and Plus usage are unchanged, and OpenAI has not specified the size of the Business Premium increase.

OpenAI cancelled a planned usage reduction for its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29, one day before it was due to take effect, and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The changes raise capacity for some paid users without changing prices, but do not double every ChatGPT limit.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The two services draw on a shared allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. ChatGPT Work is used for longer tasks such as research and documents, while Codex is a coding agent. Increasing that shared pool does not automatically change other ChatGPT limits.

For Pro 200, OpenAI cancelled the reduction it had announced in September. Its updated help page says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The page also says the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit on Pro 200 now matches the higher one. That is a restoration and adjustment for affected subscribers, not a doubling for everyone who already had the higher allowance.

The changes apply automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for a billing renewal, OpenAI says. The company’s help page specifies that Plus usage is unchanged, and weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged. Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. Business Premium users receive more Work and Codex usage, but OpenAI’s release note does not quantify the increase.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes eff…
The developmentOpenAI reversed a planned ChatGPT Pro 200 usage cut and raised Work and Codex allowances for several Pro tiers on October 29.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

What the New Limits Change

The update matters to people whose work depends on sustained use of ChatGPT Work or Codex: they may have more room for research, document work or coding before hitting the shared allowance. It also avoids a scheduled reduction for affected Pro 200 subscribers. OpenAI did not change the listed plan prices, so the immediate change is to usage capacity rather than the cost of a subscription.

However, the phrase “doubles usage limits” can overstate what changed if read as applying to every tool or plan. The official help page draws distinctions between Work and Codex allowances, GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and other features. Users deciding whether to upgrade should check their own plan’s usage information: a larger allowance does not necessarily mean twice as many tasks, because the amount used can depend on the model, task and speed mode.

For companies, the Business Premium increase is harder to plan around because OpenAI did not publish a numeric factor in its release note. Employers may also need to keep subscription-seat costs separate from API budgets; this announcement concerns plan usage allowances, not a stated change to API pricing.

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Vitamix 5200 Professional-Grade Blender, 64 oz. Container, Black

Roborock F25 GT Set Cordless Wet Dry Vacuum Cleaner and Mop with 2 Brushes

Roborock F25 GT Set Cordless Wet Dry Vacuum Cleaner and Mop with 2 Brushes

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the September Cut Was Reversed

The change follows a month of shifting terms for the $200 Pro tier. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for that plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200, introduced Pro 500 and told affected users that included usage allowances would change while the $200 monthly price remained the same.

In an earlier post, Sottiaux described a plan scale of Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier for a period. The details prompted concern ahead of an October 30 change date. On October 29, OpenAI’s release notes said it had cancelled the Pro 200 reduction and increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100 and Pro 500.

Sottiaux, who posts as Tibo and leads core OpenAI products including Codex, described the update more broadly on X as doubling “all usage limits” across Pro tiers and Business Premium. That wording does not match the limits described in OpenAI’s help page. For plan-specific details, the help page is more precise: it says which allowances changed and which chat limits stayed the same.

“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo on X

Limits OpenAI Has Not Specified

OpenAI’s release notes say Business Premium usage is increasing but do not state by how much. Sottiaux said in his post that it would double, but the company’s help information does not provide that figure. The precise Business Premium allowance should therefore be treated as unquantified in the official plan details.

The announcement also does not provide a task count that users can expect from the larger shared Work and Codex pool. OpenAI says actual usage varies with the model, the task and the speed mode. The source material does not give updated numerical allowance amounts for each plan, so it is not possible to translate the change into a fixed number of research jobs or coding tasks.

OpenAI’s October 29 notes do not describe changes to Business Standard, Go or Free, and they do not announce a change to API limits. Those plans and services should not be assumed to have received the same increase. Dots, OpenAI’s always-on agents, retain extended limits “for now,” according to the supplied plan information, and are counted separately.

Check Plan Details Before Upgrading

Subscribers do not need to take action to receive the announced changes: OpenAI says existing accounts get the updated allowance automatically and immediately, rather than at the next renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page to see how the shared Work and Codex allowance applies to their plan.

For anyone considering a more expensive subscription, the practical next step is to compare the limits that actually changed with the work they do. Pro 100 and Pro 500 gained Work and Codex capacity, while their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits stayed the same. Pro 200’s planned cut was cancelled, but the restoration differs depending on whether a subscriber previously had the lower or higher allowance.

Companies evaluating Business Premium may need to wait for a numeric allowance or account-level details from OpenAI before estimating the effect. OpenAI has not announced another plan change or a follow-up date in the material available. Any further clarification about Business Premium usage or the named allowances would help customers compare plans on a like-for-like basis.

Key Questions

What changed for ChatGPT Pro on October 29?

OpenAI cancelled the planned Pro 200 usage reduction and doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Business Premium usage also increased, although OpenAI’s release note does not give a numeric amount.

Did every Pro subscriber get twice as much usage?

No. Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. On Pro 200, the lower allowance doubled to match the higher one, while subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it. The change does not double every ChatGPT limit.

Did OpenAI change prices or Plus limits?

The October 29 announcement did not change plan prices. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged. The weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 also remain unchanged.

Do existing subscribers have to renew or take action?

No action or renewal is required, according to OpenAI’s help page. Existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically.

How much more usage does Business Premium get?

OpenAI says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not specify the amount in its release note. Sottiaux said it would double in a post on X, but the official plan information supplied does not confirm a numeric increase.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
You May Also Like

10 Best 4K Webcams To Bring Clarity To Professional Video In 2027

A ThorstenMeyerAI.com buying guide compares 10 4K webcams by image quality, lighting, autofocus, privacy features and software support.

Small Streamers: Using AI To Rank Clips From Full Streams

AI-driven tools now enable small streamers to automatically rank and select highlight clips from full streams, transforming content curation and monetization.