Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

11 Books Like I’m Thinking Of Ending Things To Check Out If You Like Psychological Horror

Books Like I'm Thinking Of Ending Things

Looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things? Scroll down below to find similar thriller books you might enjoy.

As one reviewer on Goodreads put it, ”If you like existential road trips, creepy farmhouses, after-dark schools, being anxious, tense vibes, and books that can read forward and backwards— this one is for you.”

The book I’m Thinking Of Ending Things has become very popular after the Netflix film by the same name by famous director Charlie Kaufman was released. The film was well-loved by critics and fans of slow-burn horror. I’m Thinking Of Ending Things is a strange book that a very niche category of fans will enjoy. If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, then you’re at the right place. You can scroll down to the list of similar books down below.

I’m Thinking Of Ending Things follows the story of Jake and his girlfriend, who is never given a name as they make their way to a secluded farm to meet Jake’s family. When the two of them take a detour, the girlfriend is left stranded at a deserted high school, looking for an escape she cannot find. The story slowly devolves into a chaos of psychological horror as she starts to question the very nature of her reality. I’ll leave you with one quote from the book –

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.

Also Check Out: 11 Movies like Sunshine to Watch if you like Mind-Bending Films

List Of Books Like I’m Thinking Of Ending Things

  1. No One Gets Out Alive
  2. Foe
  3. The Devil All The Time
  4. Midnight Picnic
  5. Fever Dream
  6. You Should Have Left
  7. Penpal – Dathan
  8. The Silent Patient
  9. Gone Girl
  10. Before I Go To Sleep
  11. The Cabin At The End Of The World

Also Check Out: 10 Shows like Person Of Interest To Watch If You Like Fast-Paced Thrillers

No One Gets Out Alive

No One Gets Out Alive is a horror novel by the British author Adam Nevill. The story of the book focuses on a young woman called Stephanie who is always strapped for cash. Stephanie finds a really nice apartment at a decent price which seems like a too-good-to-be-true kind of offer. Still, not willing to let this opportunity pass by, she quickly moves into the apartment.

As she settles into her apartment, strange and inexplicable things start happening around her which are sometimes sinister in nature. She starts feeling a presence in her apartment and hearing odd things. Revealing any more of the story would be akin to spoiling it but if you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you should definitely check out No One Gets Out Alive.

Foe

Foe is Ian Reed’s second novel after writing ‘I’m Thinking of Ending Things. This book is a psychological thriller/ horror with a sci-fi setting. Reid has called the book a ‘philosophical suspense story’. The story of the book is based on a married couple(Junior and his wife Henrietta) who live on a remote farm. Their lives are disrupted when a stranger called Terrance appears and announces that Junior has been selected to go on a space mission. When Junior is gone, Terrance replaces him with a biochemical clone to take care of Henrietta. Things get increasingly creepy from there. As this is written by the same author as ‘I’m Thinking Of Ending Things’, fans of the book will definitely enjoy reading Foe.

The Devil All The Time

You may have heard of the Netflix film The Devil All the Time. The film has been adapted from an original novel by the American writer Donald Ray Pollock and was published in 2011. The book follows a set of bizarre characters from the end of World War II to the 1960s. The characters include Willard Russel, a tortured war veteran who lost his wife Charlotte, Carl and Sandy Henderson, a husband-and-wife team of serial killers who are always on the hunt for their next kill. The book is a study of the evil within mankind, and how it manifests in different ways in different people. While not everyone may enjoy this book, people who enjoy psychological horror may just end up loving The Devil All the Time. You could also check out the Netflix film if you feel like it.

Midnight Picnic

Midnight Picnic is a popular novel by author Nick Antosca and follows the story of a man called Bram. The story of the book begins as Bram finds the bones of a murdered child. The murdered child’s spirit begins talking to Bram and convinces him to get revenge for the child’s death. What follows is a fever dream of a story that goes into detail about the nature of death and what it means to be a killer. Bram and the child enter the realm of the dead and learn more about their own identities. The book can be creepy and dark at times, and if the story sounds like something you may like you can check out Midnight Picnic.

Fever Dream

Fever Dream is a 2014 Spanish horror novel by author Samantha Schweblin. The book has been translated into English by Megan McDowell and the English version was published in 2017 by Riverhead Books. The book has gained a lot of critical appreciation as a horror story. NPR has called the book, ‘an exceptional example of the short-and-creepy form’. The New Yorker also has good things to say about the book, ‘so enigmatic and so disciplined…[that] it belongs to a new literary genre altogether’.

The book follows the life of a young woman named Amanda, who is dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy named David sits beside her. They’re not related to each other. But together, they tell a haunting story of their past that is sure to really touch your heart. If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you can’t go wrong with reading the psychological horror Fever Dream.

You Should Have Left

You Should Have Left is a popular German novella by writer Daniel Kehlmann. The novella was translated into English by Ross Benjamin. The book follows the story of a screenwriter, trying to write a sequel to his successful first-script – Beasties. The screenwriter is on a studio deadline, so he rents a house in the mountains to work on his sequel in peace and his wife and daughter accompany him. As he continues to write the sequel, the boundaries between his real life and the story he is developing start to dissolve and readers will have a hard time distinguishing reality from fiction. The book has received a lot of good reviews from critics for the author’s ability to confuse the readers about what’s real in the story and what’s not. Fans of I’m Thinking of Ending Things should definitely check out You Should Have Left.

Penpal

If you’re looking for books like I’m Thinking of Ending Things, the book Penpal by American author Dathan Auerbach is an excellent book. The storyline for Penpal is based on a series of connected series the author posted on the r/nosleep subreddit. Having received a lot of positive attention for his work, he decided to publish it in the form of a novel. The story of Penpal is told via a series of non-linear recollections by an anonymous narrator trying to make sense of his childhood. The narrator is unsure of what happened in their early life, as the narrator’s mother hid the truth about his childhood all his life. As the story goes on, the narrator finds himself at the attention of an obsessed stalker. The book has a really unique writing style and fans of mysteries should definitely check this out.

The Silent Patient

The Silent Patient is a psychological thriller written by British author Alex Michaelides. The story of the book is a narration by a psychotherapist who recounts his dealings with a disturbed patient. His patient is a woman, who commits a grisly murder of her husband and then becomes mute. The story follows the patient’s obsession with finding out the truth about why she committed the murder. At the time of the book’s release, the book debuted on The York Times Best Seller List at No 1. The book has also won a Goodreads Choice Award 2019 for the Mystery and Thriller category.

Gone Girl

I’m pretty sure most of you have seen the film Gone Girl or heard of it at the very least. The film is based on the popular 2012 novel of the same name by famous thriller author Gillian Flynn who has also written Sharp Objects. The film follows the story of a couple who fall in love and get married in a small town. The wife Amy disappears it looks like she has kidnapped or captured. This sends the husband on a wild goose chase as he chases down leads to find his wife. However, the truth is not as simple as it appears and Amy has a few tricks up her sleeve. It wouldn’t make sense to spoil the surprise here, so if you haven’t yet read the book you should give it a read.

Before I Go To Sleep

Before I Go To Sleep is author S.J. Watson’s debut novel that was published in 2011. The book became a bestseller on Sunday Times and The New York Times and has been translated into over 40 languages. Before I Go To Sleep has also become a bestseller in many countries around the world as well. The book follows the story of a woman suffering from anterograde amnesia. She wakes up each day not remembering who she is and the story of the novel follows her life as she tries to reconstruct her memories of the past every time that she wakes. Every new day she wakes up, the readers learn new parts of her backstory. She has a loving husband who supports her through her journey, however, all things are not as they seem. As the story unfolds, she realizes that entire parts of her life have been hidden from her. Saying any more would be spoiling it, so if this sounds interesting you should check out Before I Go To Sleep.

The Cabin At The End Of The World

The Cabin At The End of The World is a horror novel by American writer Paul Tremblay. The novel has received a ton of good reviews from critics and has won the Horror Writers Association’s Bram Stoker Award for Novel in 2019. The book follows a gay couple, Eric and Andrew, and their adopted daughter Wen who are taking a vacation in a secluded cabin in New Hampshire. While on their vacation, they are invaded by a group of strangers who take them hostage. Things get progressively chaotic as the story continues and you should definitely check out this amazing novel. Popular horror author Stephen King also commented on this novel, saying it was ‘thought-provoking and terrifying.’ If you’re looking for books similar to I’m Thinking of Ending Things, you should definitely check this one out.

When Lost aired over a decade ago, its successful narrative created a pop culture impact and changed the landscape of television. If you are a fan and want to watch shows like Lost then you can have a look at this list we made just for you.

Lost

The hugely successful television series Lost aired in 2004. The premise, as we know, deals with a group of people surviving a commercial passenger plane crash on a remote island. The show masterfully explores supernatural and sci-fi elements on this mysterious south Pacific island. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KTu8iDynwNc

The use of cliffhangers at the end of each episode of Lost kept the viewers on the edge of their seats, desperately craving for the next episode to come. Even though it's a large ensemble cast, most of the characters receive a justifiable personal arch. Lost was inspired by the movie Castaway and became one of the most expensive pilots to be shot at the time! Lost continues to be appreciated for its originality in storytelling and dynamic character arcs. 

List of TV Shows Like Lost

  1. The Leftovers
  2. Manifest
  3. Lost Room
  4. Twin Peaks
  5. The Prisoners
  6. Battlestar Galactica
  7. The New People
  8. Flight 29 Down
  9. Fringe
  10. Alcatraz
  11. Under the Dome
  12. Dark

1. The Leftovers (2014)

IMDB ratings: 8.3/10

Cast: Carrie Coon, Justin Theroux, Amy Brenneman and Margaret Qualley

Creator: Damon Lindelof and Tom Perrotta

The director of Lost, Damon Lindel also created a supernatural drama series called The Leftovers. The show begins 3 years after an unexplainable global event called ‘Sudden Departure’  where almost 2 per cent of the population, nearly 140 million people, disappear. The Leftovers isn't about WHY people are gone, it's about how the ones who remain dealt with their loss, people often try to comfort themselves with dreams, angels, gods, or even death.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FLT3YUALJno&t=8s

The Leftovers will leave you with so many questions but beyond words, you have to feel it and savour its unanswered questions to find peace. The Leftovers is an incredible television series that starts incredibly well but loses its way by the series's end. I have to say though, Carrie Coon has brilliant moments in the end. The Leftovers is so weird, fragmented and nonsensical at times that it reminds me of Lost. If you are looking for shows like Lost, I recommend that you give The Leftovers a try.

2. Manifest  (2018) 

IMDB ratings: 7.1/10

Cast: Melissa Roxburgh, Josh Dallas and J.R. Ramirez 

Creator: Jeff Rake


The Manifest is a supernatural drama show about a bunch of people who discover that they lost 5 years of their lives when they landed in New York after their aeroplane faced severe turbulence. All the people on the plane were presumed to be dead. Now, these people have to find a way to adjust themselves to a new life around their loved ones. Mild spoiler! They learn their loved ones and the rest of society is not as they left it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1hNAIzkQWY

I found that the show’s premise was very intriguing and the actors give a very convincing performance. The narrative details of the show, however, in my opinion, are a bit sloppy and inconsistent. The writers surely have room for improvement but their concept is incredibly thrilling. Every episode of Manifest keeps you on your toes. Manifest has completed 3 seasons up until now and continues to be on air. Manifest is a pretty good choice if you want to watch TV shows like Lost.

3. Lost Room (2006)

IMDB ratings: 8.1/10

Cast: Peter Krause, Julianna Margulies and Peter Jacobson

Creator: Christopher Leone, Laura Harkcom

This lesser-known show The Lost Room is an American Sci-fi television miniseries which only had 3 episodes of 90 mins each and no follow-up seasons. The show was based on a very unique idea where the room in question (known as the ‘Lost Room’) and the objects in the said room had supernatural powers. This strange room is set in a 1960s motel along the iconic U.S. Route 66. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfWrECLnFYU

One day the protagonist (Peter Krause) Joe Miller’s daughter disappears inside the room. Joe, with the help of objects present in the room, tries to find his daughter Anna (Elle Fanning). The story of Lost Room was intensely engaging. I found the direction and the actor’s performances to be absolutely brilliant. It baffles me that the creators did not return to make another short season within the same concept. If you have been searching for TV series like Lost then I can assure you that Lost Room will be worth a watch.

4. Twins Peaks (1990) 

IMDB ratings: 8.8/10

Cast: Kyle MacLachlan, Mädchen Amick, Sherilyn Fenn and David Lynch

Creator: David Lynch

David Lynch, the well-known director of weird and captivating films such as Eraserhead and Blue Velvet created an iconic show called Twin Peaks. It is a hauntingly eccentric show about the investigation of the mysterious murder of a small-town homecoming queen named Laura Palmer. Believe me, as odd as the show may seem at first, you will grow to love it, after all, it is considered to be one of the best mystery shows ever created. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zwn9ou_nf-I

With the mysteries, the supernatural elements and the list of bizarre characters, Twin Peaks has it all. In my opinion, the cinematography of the show was truly ahead of its time. Kyle’s Dale Cooper was especially entertaining. Twin Peaks’ experimental formula of the satirical soap opera is extremely unsettling yet rewarding to watch, I must warn you, it’s not for the faint-hearted!  If you are in search of TV shows like Lost then Twin Peaks won’t disappoint you.

The Prisoners (1967)

IMDB ratings: 8.5/10

Cast: Patrick McGoohan, Angelo Muscat and Geroge Markstien

Creator: Patrick McGoohan


The Prisoner centres around an unnamed British agent (Patrick McGoohan) who tries to flee his country after abruptly quitting his high-ranking government job. He is abducted and held captive in a strange ‘sea-side’ village that is isolated from the rest of the world. This village is a highly secure and monitored place filled with weird technology. There are only 17 episodes to this late 60s show but it manages to bring up such surreal surprises, it's sure to leave a great impact on the viewer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4JrNr85fPms

The Prisoner’s unique concept influenced many popular shows including Lost. The creators of Lost even cited the show. I was very impressed by how ahead of its time The Prisoners proves to be. If you want to watch more shows similar to Lost the Prisoners should definitely be on your list.

6. Battlestar Galactica (2004)

IMDB ratings: 8.7/10

Cast: Katee Sackhoff, Edward James Olmos and Tricia Helfer 

Creator: Glen A. Larson

The 2004 Battlestar Galactica is a reboot of the original 1978 miniseries of the same name. Do not be mistaken by the title, the show is not related to Star Trek.  Battlestar Galactica is set in the 7th millennium AD and follows Cylons, the robot enemy of humanity that resurfaces to destroy the 12 colonies of Mankind. Only a few survive and are able to escape on ships led by a powerful warship called Battlestar Galactica. Mankind struggles to fight the Cylons and work their own political agendas and disputes while finding their long-lost 13th colony Earth.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnYsf2Yv8i8

The show is a dark, intense and gritty socio-political commentary with EPIC cinematic value. The script is especially clever and as a huge fan of sci-fi shows, this show ticks the boxes in all the right categories. When the show was released, it blew the viewers and critics away. As far as an obsessive and gripping story goes, Battlestar Galactica is one of the most similar to shows like Lost. 

7. The New People (1969)

IMDB ratings: 7.3/10

Cast: David Moses, Zooey hall and Tiffany Boiling

Creator: Larry Gordon Aaron Spelling

The New People is an American Tv series that aired only for 1 season and is focused on a couple of college students who survive a plane crash. The incident takes place while they were returning from a trip to Southeast Asia, their plane crashes on an island in the south of the Pacific ocean. 

By now this show must already be sounding a lot like Lost to you, and it surely is. The remaining group of people discover an unusual truth about the island: there’s an above-ground unused nuclear test site filled with supplies for the survivors. If you want to see more plane survival stories like Lost then The New People should definitely be on your list.

8. Flight 29 Down (2005)

IMDB ratings: 7.2/10

Cast: Allen Alvarado, Halle Hirsh and Corbin Bleu

Creator:  Stan Rowgow D. J. MacHale

The show Flight 29 Down is a drama series about a group of pre-teens/teens who are stranded on a South Pacific island after their plane crashes in a tropical storm while they were flying from an eco-adventure camping trip in Palau. The show is in many ways a younger version of the Adult-centred show Lost but sans the supernatural elements. I’d say that the show draws inspiration from the show The New People.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLeG0w3kL8k

Flight 29 Down uses the technique of a video diary as a plot device for the viewers to keep up with the story of these children. It was very engaging to watch young intelligent characters finding their way on the island. The first two seasons of the show are quite engaging but I seemed to lose interest in its 3rd and final season. Regardless, Flight 29 Down is a really good series to watch if you want to see TV shows like Lost.

9. Fringe (2008)

IMDB ratings: 8.4/10

Cast: Anna Torv, John Noble and Joshua Jackson

Creator: J. J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, and Roberto Orci

Fringe is a popular Sci-fi crime drama television series. It may seem like a standard procedural drama at first, but the show actually explores the parallel universe, alternate versions of people filled with crazy scientific experiments. I personally had a great time watching this show.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29bSzbqZ3xE

Fringe is actually inspired by shows like Lost, The X-files and The Twilight Zone. The 3 main characters of the show work with a special division called Fringe. There are so many brilliant twists and turns in Fringe that in my opinion, the show is at the top of its category. If you are searching for TV series like Lost, I strongly recommend you watch Fringe

10. Alcatraz (2012)

IMDB ratings: 6.9/10

Cast: Sarah Jones, George Garcia and Jonny Coyne 

Creator: Elizabeth Sarnoff, Steven Lilien, Bryan Wynbrandt

This American fiction show is based on the infamous Alcatraz Federal Penitentiary built on Alcatraz island in San Francisco Bay. The prison is now closed but once kept some of the most dangerous criminals of America. The show takes the liberty to make a show around the conspiracies of the place.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V514ACIGp_k

In the interesting premise we see that under unknown circumstances, 256 inmates and 46 guards of the prison disappear without a trace. Later the disappeared ones start to appear one by one without ageing a day and resume their criminal activities with no realisation of disappearance. A special government unit is dedicated to finding and putting those criminals back in prison. If you are looking for mystery shows similar to Lost, try watching Alcatraz. 

11. Under the Dome (2013)

IMDB ratings: 6.5/10

Cast: Alexander Koch and Rachelle Lefevre

Creator: Stephen King

Based on a novel written by the sci-fi legend Stephen King, Under the Dome tells the story of the residents of the fictional small town called Chester's Mill, when a huge, transparent and indestructible dome suddenly cuts them off from the rest of the world. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_Y5YeYrqUk

Now the trapped residents try to find a way to discover the truth, origin and purpose of these domes. This journey forces them into situations where they learn more about each other than they ever knew. Under the Dome may not be on the top of this list but it’s quite a decent watch if you’re looking for mystery shows similar to Lost

12. Dark (2017)

IMDB ratings: 8.7/10

Cast: Louis Hofmann, Lisa Vicari and Gina Stiebitz

Creator: Baran bo Odar, Jantje Friese

The German-language Netflix series Dark is an interesting blend of Science fiction and Mystery. Truly a compelling and mind-bending story to watch. At the beginning of Dark, many children suspiciously start disappearing in the German town of Winden. The dark past of generational mysteries of 4 families living in the town namely, Kahnwald, Nielsen, Doppler, and Tiedemann is brought to light.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrwycJ08PSA

After the discovery of a wormhole, the lives of the families intertwine more than one can imagine. I believe every element of the show is top-notch, especially Dark’s cinematography, which is a TRUE masterpiece. If you are looking for TV series similar to Lost then the intense and gripping story of Dark is sure to keep you engrossed.

Honourable Mentions

Here are a few TV shows like Lost that didn’t make the list, but you can check them out nonetheless: 

  1. Carnivale
  2. Yellowjackets
  3. Game of Thrones
  4. Black Mirror
  5. Flashforward